, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


NEW YORK  – The Arab resolution calling on the withdrawal of Israeli forces from the occupied territories failed to get the nine votes needed from the 15-strong members of the UN Security Council. The eight that voted in favour included China, Russia, Luxembourg, Chad, Chile and France.
Whilst those that abstained – Lithuania, Rwanda, South Korea, UK, and Nigeria.
Two voted against – USA and Australia.
Nigeria had expected to vote in favour but abstained. Under the resolution, Israel would have needed to withdraw by 2017. Had it been passed, the USA would have been expected to block the resolution by using its veto.